Approved Tests


The Pennsylvania School Code, 24 P.S. 13-1327.1(e)(1) states that the portfolio for home education students in grades 3, 5 and 8 must include the results of the statewide tests for reading/language arts and mathematics or nationally normed standardized achievements tests. If the supervisor of the home education program requests that the student(s) take the PSSA, the school district must allow the student to take the test at the school building the home education student would normally attend or other accommodations agreed to by the school district and the parent. The Department has approved the following nationally normed standardized tests for use by home education programs if they choose not to take the statewide test:

  1. California Achievement Test
  2. Comprehensive Testing Program (CTPIV)
  3. Iowa Test of Basic Skills
  4. Metropolitan Achievement Test
  5. Peabody Achievement Individual Test – Revised Version
  6. Stanford Achievement Test
  7. Terra Nova
  8. Woodcock Johnson Revised Tests of Achievement III
  9. Woodcock Johnson IV
  10. Wechsler Individual Achievement Test III (WIAT-III)

The following additional tests were accepted until June 30, 2009:

  1. Comprehensive Testing Program (CTPII)
  2. Comprehensive Test of Basic Skills
  3. Peabody Individual Test
  4. Wide Range Achievement Test
  5. Woodcock Johnson Revised Tests of Achievement
Print Friendly